Gaston Together's Community Leadership Awards Event, A Tremendous Success! PDF Print E-mail

Gaston Together’s Community Leadership Awards Event, A Tremendous Success!

The 2013 Community Leadership Awards Event was an evening to celebrate outstanding Community Leadership we enjoy today as well as leaders of the future!  Gaston Together, in its sixteenth year of service to Gaston County, honored The Carrie E. and Lena V. Glenn Foundation as the winner of the 2013 Community Leadership Award. Maureen O’Boyle, WBTV News, was the event emcee.  Over two hundred guests were in attendance to be a part of the evening.  Event sponsors were PSNC Energy, BB&T, Duke Energy and Bridgestone Americas Trust Fund/ Firestone Fibers.


The Glenn Foundation was recognized for their forty years of benevolence providing almost $6.6 million in funding to support 722 programs across Gaston County.  According to Community Leadership Awards Committee Chairman, Terry Stroupe, “They have responded annually to community needs and have touched citizens of all ages and from all works of life.  They have cared for the most vulnerable while promoting sustainability, growth and civic pride which makes them a deserving winner of the 2013 Community Leadership Award.” Mr. Stroupe presented Barbara Voorhees, Glenn Foundation Executive Director, and Julie Shovelin, Chair of the Board of Trustees, with the “Circle of Caring Award,” a sculpture commissioned by Gaston Together to commemorate this honor.  The sculpture was designed by local artist, Dr. Graham Weathers.


The Gaston County Education Foundation once again graciously sponsored the “Proudest Kid in Gaston County” Essay Contest.  Education Foundation Director, Jennie Stultz, presented the check for next year’s contest during the event.  The 2013 winner of the essay contest for third graders was also announced at the event.  Patrick Lamp, McAdenville Elementary, was this year’s County-wide winner and was presented with his award by Curtis Rosselle, Chairman of the Essay Selection Committee.  Also assisting with this year’s selection and presentation was Hanna Newcombe, the 2005 County-wide winner, now a Junior at Gaston Day School.  Honorable mentions were Leydi Guardado, Woodhill Elementary and Emme Lewandowski, Belmont Central Elementary.  Individual school winners were presented with a Lantern of Knowledge medal for their essays.



Gaston Together is a county-wide non-profit organization whose mission is to bring the people and resources of Gaston County together to address our community’s unmet needs.  This work is conducted through the principles and best practices of collaboration, facilitation, promotion and the anticipation of possibilities.  Don Harrison, Alliance Bank and Trust, is serving as the 2012 - 2013 Board Chair.